11/10/2021 Education Text Books

Price: Check with seller


The laws of cricket are a set of rules set up by The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) which describe the laws of cricket global, to ensure equality and equity. The MCC retains the copyright in the laws of the game. Only the MCC may change the laws. Although currently this would normally only be done after discussions with the game’s global governing body the International Cricket Council (ICC). Cricket is one of the few sports for which the governing principles are referred to as ‘Laws’ rather than as ‘Rules’ or ‘Regulations’.

Important dates in the history of the Cricket Laws are as follows:
The first recognized Laws of Cricket were published in 1744 after a meeting at the Star and Garter. They specified that the pitch be 22 yards long. The distance between the bowling crease and the popping crease be 46 inches. The wickets be 22 inches tall and six inches wide. The ball weigh between five and six ounces. These were altered in 1755 and further changes were introduced over the next hundred years or so.

1. 1774 – In 1774, the first leg-before-wicket law was published.

2. 1760s and 1770s – It became common to pitch the ball through the air, rather than roll it along the ground. This crucial innovation gave the bowler the weapons of length, deception through the air, and increased pace. It also opened alternative possibilities for spin and swerve.

3. 1780 – Three days had become the length of a major match and this year also saw the creation of the first six-seam cricket ball.

4. 1798 – The size of the wicket increased from 22 inches in height to 24, and from 6 inches in breadth to 7; a new ball could be demanded at the start of each innings and if a fielder stopped the ball with his hat the batting side would be awarded five runs.

More Details

Total Views:7
Reference Id:#1786094


Copyright © 2021 |   All Rights Reserved | |   24x7 support |   Email us : info[at]